Casey Hof

Casey Hof

Rank: 
Patrolman (First Class)
With the SBPD since: 
2013

What made you choose the job you're doing now? How long have you been doing it?
After receiving my masters degree, I worked for Target as an Executive in charge of Assets Protection.  I did well in my career, but I felt that I was not helping anyone but myself and the company.  I decided that I was going to take a pay cut and apply for SBPD so that I would be in a position to help people.  This is my fourth year with SBPD.

Was there an influential person or incident that made you chose your career?
See below.

When you were in elementary school, what did you want to be?
When I was very young I wanted to be a dentist and a news paper delivery person!  Around the age of ten, I started watching the show "Rescue 911" and decided that I wanted to be a police officer.

What have you achieved in your position (awards, rank)?
Patrolman First Class is my current position (awarded after 3 years of service)

If you could be remembered for one thing within your career, what would that be?
Always serving with honesty and integrity.

Is there something in your life that you are very proud of?
I am proud that I was able to start and finish my masters degree while working full time.  I graduated summa cum laude/high honors with a 3.98 GPA.  There were many times that I wanted to give up from exhaustion being I had to come home from work to do 3-4 hours of work for school before I could go to bed.  Receiving my masters degree was something I had always wanted to achieve so I used that to motivate myself when things were rough.

What do you like to do when you're not working?
When I am not working I like to do things to stay active.   I like to do non-traditional workouts such as Insanity and Crossfit.  I love to be outdoors whether it is a day at the beach, taking the dogs for a walk/run or hanging out with the neighbors at a BBQ.

Whats your favorite type of music, artist, movie, sport, actor or actress?
I don't watch much television but I do love to watch Coach Izzo and the Michigan State University Basketball team.  I'm a huge fan and I was part of the famous "Izzone" when I attended college there.
I love rock music.  My favorite band is Papa Roach and I try to go to a rock concert at least once a year.

Are you from South Bend?  If not where are you from?
I grew up in Elkhart, Indiana then moved to Michigan after high school to attend Michigan State University for my undergraduate education.

Do you have a favorite quote?  
"The strongest of us, the most determined of us, we hold onto the dream or we find ourselves with a fresh dream we never considered.  We awake to find ourselves, against all odds, feeling hopeful...and if we are lucky, we realize in the face of everything, in the face of life, the true dream...is being able to dream at all"

What inspires you?
What inspires me and drives me most everyday is having the opportunity to help others, even if it is in a small way.