Police Memorial Set For May 18, 2018

South Bend Police Department and Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #36 will hold its annual Tribute and Memorial Service as part of National Police Officers Week for the 15 South Bend officers who have given their lives in the line of duty.

In 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15th as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15th falls as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

The memorial service will be Friday, May 18th, 2018 at 7:30 p.m. in front of the South Bend Police Department located at 701 W. Sample. The community is invited to attend as we dedicate prayers and a moment of silence for our 15 officers and the thousands of other men and women who have died protecting their communities nationally.

In the event of inclement weather, the service will be moved indoors.

Since the South Bend Police Department’s official inception in 1903, the City has lost 15 officers in the line of duty:

Oscar Christenson- 1886
Samuel Cooper- 1900
Lewis Keller- 1908
Hans Brandt- 1916
Fred E. Buland- 1921
Neil McIntyre- 1923
Lloyd Thompson- 1932
Delbert Thompson-1933
Charles E. Farkas, Sr.- 1933
Howard Wagner- 1934
Ronald St. Germain, Sr.- 1967
Thomas J. DeRue, Sr.- 1974
Paul R. Deguch- 1997
Scott Lee Severns- 2006
Nick Polizzotto- 2007