The South Bend Police Department, in conjunction with the South Bend Common Council and Deputy Mayor Mark Neal, has declared May 11­–17 a week of remembrance and dedication to all South Bend Police Officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty. The Fraternal Order of Police, Lodge #36, will hold the annual Police Officers Memorial Service at 8 p.m. Friday, May 9 at the South Bend Police Department, 701 West Sample Street.

“We ask the citizens of South Bend to join us in recognizing the officers who have made the ultimate sacrifice,” says Police Chief Ron Teachman. “As officers we strive to honor their memories every day, and every year at this time we come together as a community to commemorate their service.”

In 1962, President Kennedy proclaimed May 15th as National Peace Officers Memorial Day and the calendar week in which May 15th falls as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Police Week pays special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

“Every day the City’s police officers risk their lives in the service of public safety,” Neal says. “Our fallen officers’ legacy of sacrifice in the line of duty will never be forgotten.”

Since the South Bend Police Department’s official inception in 1903, the City has lost 15 officers in the line of duty—most recently, Corporal Nick Polizzotto, in 2007. South Bend’s other fallen officers are:

Hans Brandt
Fred E. Buland
Oscar Christenson
Samuel Cooper
Paul R. Deguch
Charles E. Farkas, Sr.
Thomas J. DeRue, Sr.
Ronald St. Germain, Sr.
Lewis Keller
Neil McIntyre
Scott Lee Severns
Delbert Thompson
Lloyd Thompson
Howard Wagner